We receive questions from users about tasks that they have completed already but still appearing in their My Tasks and Timesheets. Below are the steps that would help to keep the user interface neat and tidy by removing completed tasks from My Tasks and Timesheets.

Steps for Removing Completed Tasks From My Tasks

Where a completed task is still visible in a team member’s task list or timesheet, we recommend applying and updating the ‘Locked’ and ‘Publish’ column features in the project schedule.

When a task is “Locked” it means it is locked from all future updates.

To apply this setting:

  1. Open the project in Microsoft Project for Editing
  2. Insert the ‘Locked’ column in Microsoft Project and set all tasks to ‘Yes’.

Screenshot of locked column in Microsoft Project

  1. Save, Publish and Check in the Project. Ensure that this is completed successfully.

In some cases, the effort may be tracked at the project level. To prevent users from logging effort to the project, apply the ‘Locked’ column to the Project Summary Task and set to ‘Yes’.

Screenshot of Microsoft Project

Tasks become “Locked” when the schedule owner clicks Publish. The following will be applied:

  • The tasks are no longer visible in My Tasks
  • The tasks remain in any existing timesheets
  • The tasks are not available in new timesheets
  • The tasks remain in the Resource Assignment view

Steps for Removing Completed Tasks From Timesheets

To remove the tasks from Timesheets, we also need to prevent these tasks from being published.

To apply this setting:

  1. Reopen the project for editing in Microsoft Project.
  2. Insert the ‘Publish’ column and set all tasks to ‘No’
  3. Save, Publish and Check in the Project. Ensure that this is completed successfully.

Screenshot of removing completed tasks from timesheets

When the schedule owner changes Publish to “No” for a task that was previously published, the following changes occur:

  • The tasks are no longer visible in My Tasks
  • The tasks are no longer visible in any existing timesheets
  • The tasks are not available in future timesheets
  • The tasks are no longer visible in the Resource Assignment view

As best practice for Administrators, we also recommend closing the timesheets monthly to avoid any changes after data has already been approved and processed (e.g. perhaps for financial purposes).

To close timesheets:

  1. Go to PWA Settings > Time Reporting Periods
  2. Change the ‘Status’ of the intended reporting period from “Open” to “Closed”
  3. Click Save.

Now you know how to Remove Tasks From Timesheets in Microsoft Project.

Contact us for more info about Microsoft Project and visit our YouTube channel to review the last webinars.